samedi 15 mars 2014

HyeKyung Lee 이 혜경 - River Han (n)


HyeKyung Lee
HyeKyung Lee (born in Seoul, Korea) is a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin (DMA in Composition, May 1998), where she studied with Karl Korte, Donald Grantham, Russell Pinkston, Dan Welcher, and Stephen Montague (visiting professor, 1992 and 1995). She also studied with Bernard Rands at the Atlantic Center for the Arts in March 1998, and Ladislav Kubik at the Czech-American Summer Music Institute in Prague 1995.
HyeKyung is the recepient of the 1999 Burbank Artist Fellowship for the Villa Montalvo Artist Residency Program, the 1999 Delius Composition Contest (Opposed Directions for solo piano), 1999 & 98 ASCAP Standard Award, the 1998 SEAMUS/ASCAP Student Commission Award (Opposed Directions for Disklavier and Live-electronics, honorable mention), the 1998 SCI*/ASCAP student Competetion commission (Sonatina for Soprano Saxophone and Piano honorable mention), the 1997 Nancy Van de Vate Prize for Orchestral Music by IAWM* (Piano Concerto No. 1), the 1996 Search for New music Prize by IAWM (Sonatina), the 1996 Piano Trio Competetion by IAWM and the Aviva Players (Cafe Music performed by the Aviva Players in New York City in March 1997), and the nominee for the 1998 American Academy of Arts and Letters Awards (nominated by John Harbison). Recently she was offered the Djerassi Foundation Resident Artist Program for the 2000 season (as a finalist for the Gerald Oshita Memorial Fellowship).
An accomplished pianist, HyeKyung has performed her own compositions in numerous contemporary music festivals and conferences (including SCI Regionals, SCI Nationals, SEAMUS, CMS*, and IAWM conferences). She has also performed over 200 contemporary works by other composers during her tenure as a member of the UT New Music Ensemble.

River Han (n)

(by the composer herself)

Han River runs across the city of Seoul, Korea. Along the banks of the river, it is most scenic. The inspiration of the piece comes from Philip Glass’s Aguas da Amazonia-Japurá River.

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire